Light and Darkness - Available Now!

Order now from CDBaby!Light and Darkness Cover

Listen to samples from "Light and Darkness:"

Light and Darkness

Light and Darkness, the new roots-pop album by Oregon singer-songwriter Neil Bjorklund, features ten new original songs. His first recording in over a decade, this set explores the inner landscape of several stages of his life, from the high school look-back of "Yearbook," to the first love reminiscence of "Hideaway," to the adult interpersonal politics of "Walk Away." This musical journey crosses through the territories of folk, roots-pop, and folk-pop, with touches of blues, country, and rock.

Bjorklund has been called "James Taylor with edge." and has been compared with John Gorka and David Wilcox, both for the depth of his songwriting and for the clear and expressive quality of his voice.  This collection finds Bjorklund digging deeper than his previous efforts to bring more emotion to his singing, and as he puts it "to let the songs come naturally, and unforced."

The new disc was co-produced by Neil Bjorklund and Nomad Ovunc, a collaboration that brought together two musical visions into one seamless sound, that features Ovunc's tasteful organ and piano, with electric and acoustic guitars and Ovunc's touches on the bass and drum kit.  Guitarist Scott Miller's presence is strong, with both electric and acoustic guitar work that blends beautifully with the cadence and emotional tone of Bjorklund's songs.

Recorded in Nashville, TN and Eugene, OR, the disc features Eugenians Laura Kemp (vocals), Paul Biondi (saxophone), Mark Schneider (bass), Jenny Getty (vocals), and Dave Peterson (harmonica). Nashville contributors include Hanna Prater and Mare Wakefield (vocals), David Henry (cello), Scott Miller and David Isaacs (guitars), Nomad Ovunc (keys, bass, drums), and Will Kimbrough (electric guitar).

Check out Neil's other recording "Flying Canoe".